Scottish Flyer

By ianjardine

Bump, Blow out, Blip

One of those days…..

THE BUMP

Had to drive to East Midlands Airport this morning to give a lecture. The drive went well until I met the rush hour traffic going through Uttoxeter when I was hit from behind when stationary. I saw the car coming, the driver a businessman on his mobile phone, and sounded my horn to no avail. There was simply no escaping the bump which has damaged the rear of the car. Details exchanged I continued on my merry way.

THE BLOW OUT

Lecture complete and driving back up the M6 in heavy rain the car jolted to one side…..a tyre blow out. Managed to get the car over into the hard shoulder and spent what appeared ages (probably only 10 mins) in the soaking rain changing the wheel. Don't fancy doing that again in a hurry, some of the cars and HGV's got a bit close for comfort.

THE BLIP

An emergency blip and a view of the Lovell Telescope at Jodrell Bank Observatory here in Cheshire. I stopped on the final part of the drive home just as the light was fading and took this from the car. The image doesn't really portray the blustery wind along with almost horizontal rain and there was no way I was getting out in that again.

As I say…….

One of those days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.