The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Gus in boot

"You don't seriously want me to go for a walk with you in this weather?" might have been what Gus was thinking as he sat in the back of the car. I still haven't worked out what all his ear positions mean, here they are nearly horizontal.

In fact, by some minor miracle, when I had resigned myself to the prospect of getting drenched, the bucketing rain stopped just as we arrived at the parking space for our walk around the big bend in the river Kent.

Gus did well on his first day back at the office. As for me, after more than two weeks off, I might have expected to feel refreshed - and I did yesterday when I was at home. But by the afternoon today, I was already feeling exhausted again. The odd thing is that Mondays usually are the most tired day, it getting better as the week goes by. Work that one out.

The decorations are coming down this evening. In this mild weather the loft is full of flies, many of which came tumbling out of the hatch when I opened it. There is certainly no shortage of food up there for the mouse which stubbornly refuses to be caught in the new live trap (having chewed his/her way out of the last one).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.