Mikey88

By Mikey88

Heartwood

Wind and waves today. The wind has been blowing strongly without reaching gale force and all the reports on the news have shown some huge waves down by the coast. Unfortunately, I had to wait for British Gas to come and fix our boiler, so couldn't head out there. However, after I've dropped my son at the station tomorrow, I'll continue on into Cornwall and see what conditions are like.

Today, I've worked on editing pictures, when not watching the boiler being worked on. I also booked a repair visit for the washing machine, which is leaking water in ever larger quantities. After lunch I got into the garden, where I did a bit of leaf-fishing in my little pond. The water looks beautifully clear now. I just need to buy a miniature water lily to replace the enormous one which I removed before Christmas.

After that, I continued removing the buddleia branches which have blown down over the last couple of weeks, plus a bit of general picking up of debris. Whilst doing this I found a broken branch from the buddleia, where some of the bark had peeled back, revealing the heartwood. The texture appealed, so I took it inside and used my macro lens to get some of the detail and now it is my blip.

Hope everyone is surviving this wild weather and not too inundated with water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.