Tech Marketing Guy

By tmg

Gone but never forgotten

As I was leaving soccer practice today, a graveyard caught my eye. It is located next to the field and I noticed that its gate was unlocked which is unusual. I decided to investigate.

I walked into the cemetery with my camera and immediately realized that the gate was open because there was a burial ceremony at the far side of the cemetary. I was well out of eye and earshot and so felt it would be appropriate to continue.

This is an older graveyard with graves starting in the 1700s. People commonly place american flags on the graves of fallen soldiers during holidays such as Memorial day. It is a wonderful tradition and I was surprised to see this flag on the ground between two gravestones. I took this shot and felt compelled to return the flag to a position of prominence in front of a tomb stone.

Today was a particularly beautiful day in New England and the glorious weather combined with the distant burial brought a feeling of introspection. I thought of our loved ones who are no longer with us and how much we miss them. I also thought about the joy of raising the little TMGs and how my parents, great grandparents, great great grandparents and other generations probably felt exactly the same way about their kids. This was an important reminder of how precious life is and how you owe it to yourself to live every day like it is your last.

I always try to live by this credo and today was no exception. I took the little TMGs on a great nature walk. We all had a fantastic time and it was one of those great outings where we have fun and just enjoy being together. We inspected numerous acorns, streams and plants and chased each other crazily in a freshly mowed field. A great time was had by all!


Post processing:
Minor contrast tweaks in DPP

Constructive criticism always welcome

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.