The Lonely Boy

I was looking online today for a good place to see some birds. Didn't realise that there was an actual bird sanctuary quite close to where we live!

Headed off about 6.30pm and then struck a problem trying to get a car park, everywhere I went was full! Drove off along a little side track and eventually found a free one! It was free because there wasn't much to see right there!

There were big signs -"Beware of The Snakes!" - and although through the trees I could see glimpses of water and even some birds a long way off I thought it was wise not to go blundering through the bush and disturb Mr Snake ugh!!

I stuck to the proper track and power walked for about 15 minutes and came out at a huge grassy reserve with lots of people all with their dogs! Not a bird in sight!

The rivers edge was just a little further on so I headed over to the one little open spot near the shore. As I rounded a big tree and headed for a lovely seat that overlooked the water I noticed a young man gazing out at the setting sun! He was deeply engrossed so I quietly turned the sound off on my phone and crouched down behind until I had him silhouetted in the sun and blipped him!

Still didn't see any birds :) but I will head back there a little earlier next time and see if I can get closer to the actual sanctuary!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.