DanEllwood11

By DanEllwood11

We have a date!

I struggled to get to sleep again last night. I think it was 2:25am when I looked at the clock.

I was awoken to the doctor standing beside me.. "Morning, lazy!".. it was 10am! I was still really tired and still half asleep. I was expecting the usual "I'm going to try and find the surgeon again today, I'll get back to you." However, he said he'd managed to track the surgeon down this morning and they have had a meeting about me.

He said the surgeon took a bit of convincing but he agreed that surgery is the right thing to do and the sooner the better.

On the 16th of January I will be taken into theatre. We finally have a date! My recovery for home begins the moment the anaesthetic takes effect and sends me to sleep.

The surgeon, Mark Jones, came to see me later this afternoon to tell me all the risks involved and what he hopes he can do. He reassured me that everything will go smoothly although he has never done this procedure on someone with CF.

He said himself it's unknown territory. I asked what would be done if there was so much scar tissue and damage to my lung it would make it unrepairable.. he said not to worry, they have plans in place if that happens.

I'm so happy that after all this time that it has finally been confirmed and a date set. Now begins the countdown.. 9 days and counting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.