DanEllwood11

By DanEllwood11

Preparations being made.

It has been a long but busy day today. I was up at 9 ready to Skype my college tutor to go through some assignment work.

It would be ideal if I got them done before I go for surgery. I won't be doing much for a good few weeks after it's done.

It was good to see and talk to some of my college friends. I can't wait to get back there, even if it is just for a few months. I'm planning on being able to go back sometime in March if everything runs smoothly. We then finish in June. I suppose 3 or 4 months there is better than none.

It's been a day full of tests! I've had 3 sets of bloods taken, an x-ray of my teeth and an ECG. All in preparation for a transplant.

An ECG (electrocardiogram) is a test that measures the electrical activity of the heart. The electrical impulses made while the heart is beating are recorded on a piece of paper. It records any problems with the hearts rhythm.

I highly doubt a transplant is going to be needed but if things don't go to plan in theatre I will be put on the urgent transplant list. Doing all the tests in advance will save a lot of time and is much easier.

I can't remember exactly what the doctor said when I asked why I had to have an x-ray of my teeth. It's something to do with infection after having a transplant. I thought it was a bit strange though.

Mum came up with chloe and my little cocker spaniel "Perry" at about 4. It's always nice to see him, although he can't see me. He has diabetes and is on insulin twice a day. This has given him cataract and has made him completely blind.

He copes really well though and is still happy and that's all that matters. He is no trouble when he comes. He jumps on my bed and goes straight to sleep!

It has been a good day. We really seem to be moving forward at some pace now!

9 days
8 days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.