Angelique

By Angelique

" I Can See For Miles, & Miles, Miles & " The Who

I was going to wash my hair this morning before going to work but it was so wet and horrible, I thought what's the point!

So I shoved it up in a clip and lo and behold by the time it was midday, the sun was shining. So I thought, right Phoebe, we're going to have an adventure. She hid under the bed! After an eternity of coaxing, we set off in the car and headed for Crowcombe Village (just over the A358), next village and took the road that leads up and up to the top of the Quantock Hills.

It was a mild day and I forgot that at a height of over 400 metres it was going to be cold, and it was. It was so windy, to take the shot of the moon (on Flickr), I had to brace myself against the wind. We walked what seemed an eternity and finally reached Hurley Beacon where I took this shot. The rest I will put on Flickr, (Susan Penn) if I can so that those who are interested can see the rest of the amazing views. It was very misty so not as clear as I would have liked for my efforts.

For those who don't know:- The Quantocks was one of the first places in England to be awarded the accolade of Outstanding Natual Beauty and as such it is well preserved. The sign at the top tells of all the ruins to be found of past iron age forts and dwellers who must have been extremely hardy.

In the capture, the view is looking towards the Brendon Hills and beyond to Exmoor. It was so barren, there are no trees on the top and I only saw one other person with three dogs.

I descended a different way and at one point thought I was going to get lost but fortunately we carried on, Phoebe by my feet. She never runs off, bless her. It was strange seeing so much water lying on the top, almost like lakes in places, and we had fun trying to navigate around them. I say fun!! We were both glad to find the car park and leap in the car. As we were about to go, a Quantock Ranger arrived with his dog to check up on the wild animals that live up there. We have sheep, horses and even cows at times, wandering about.

So after we both thawed out, Phoebe slept in the hall and I plucked up courage to use my new glass grinder and have now managed to fit half of my new glass project into place. So far I am pleased with it.

Now time for bed, and before any more blip problems, will leave you with blessings and hugs. Keep smiling my fellow blippers. The spring bulbs are already emerging and it's soon coming:)) x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.