CarrieEllenA

By CarrieEllenA

A Becoming

This was always supposed to be a journal of my yard as it changed from the disaster it was(a year ago) to the 'tidy' yard I pruned and plucked into existence (the fall) and the lovely place I hope it will become. This is what work I accomplished this week on my garden. The pruners in the background are nearly a meter long and are resting against that part of the 40 year old junipers. This week was 15 feet pruned to the ground, chopped up and put in the yard debris bins. I still have the digging to do which means an untold number of rocks to pry out of the ground and most of the roots to at least trim to the edge of the grass. The rocks start at the surface but they are compact less than a foot down. I need to dig down 2 feet for a decent garden and add mulch to break up the heavy clay soil. It seem that my house on a hill used to be on a riverbed and the clay and rocks are the evidence of that prehistoric river.

The pine tree on the right will be one edge of the flowerbed Someday the street will be the other edge but there is no sense getting ahead of what I am willing to dig up. There is a lot of chilly work ahead that I will only be able to do on days that aren't freezing. But it will get me out in the yard when the bins are full. I have some plans for the rocks I will be relocating but that is a blip for another day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.