Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

the Chicken Pesterer

These two never fail to cheer me up when I am feeling down. The little girl wears the smallest flip-flops in the world, she is so tiny and delicate. The boy, I call ‘the chicken pesterer’, because if there is a chicken within range, he is after it. I had to pause this shoot because of a chicken, which soon disappeared as soon as it saw the lad.

It took me a long time to get the confidence of these two, as they were both very scared of me when I arrived. Now the boy will come running over to ‘give me five’ and we do cheap Asian tv ninja fights, striking up various poses and making silly noises – well, I enjoy myself, even if it does look daft.

It has been interesting following his progress, as when I arrived, he could only make noises, but obviously wanting to communicate. Now he has a fine vocabulary to call upon, speaking and understanding far better than I.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.