Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Rain

About half way through the rainy season now, but it is far worse than I ever remember before. The morning was very hot and sunny and I managed to get all my washing dried. Imaging that, washed and dried in 3 hours, using the triple tub deluxe (from a blip a few days ago).

I then went out to do some house hunting, in preparation for my escape from this meager accommodation that I am in at the moment. I did find a place a few days ago. It was the right price range at around 400 pounds for the year, but what a mess. All the time I was looking around, I just kept groaning. This was obviously not the place for me. I gave them ten days to fix it up, but after two more days of groaning at the thought of living there, I decided to cancel the deal. Fortunately, I refused to pay a deposit, so naturally, they are a bit upset at having started the work. I don’t feel bad about it, as they would need to do this work anyway.

After cancelling, I had a walk around. Found a few empty properties, but no phone numbers. But I could not imaging them being in my budget anyway. A guy saw me looking and asked what I was looking for and so I explained. It just so happened that he was in the market for renting out his property. He wanted to rent out both upper and lower for Rp25,000,000 (about 1,300 pounds) but I explained that I only had Rp10,000,000 to spend. After walking away three times (good negotiation ploy), he finally agreed my price for the lower floor, which was fine for my needs.

I will drop off the deposit tomorrow – a good day indeed.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.