wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

A most familiar place

I've spent a lot of time running up and down these stairs, it looks like I have another three years here. A few things have changed, but it's still the same old UTAS at the core.

I feel like I should record my feelings and thoughts as I launch into a PhD, this is a long term blog after all and is the right place. But in all honesty I'm not entirely sure what I am expecting yet. I'll be looking at colonial Tasmania (Van Diemen's Land), applying landscape history skills to development in the early years. As a period in history it's not my strength, but I'm fairly certain I'll come to grips with it. I assume that means I will enjoy it as much as every other period I do in-depth analysis of. I'm expecting there to be a lot of boring work, but also some really exciting discoveries. I'm not big on stressing, but I anticipate some anxiety. It might get a bit lonely, although I'm going to be linked with a team of colonial Tasmanian historians. For a while I won't have a clue what's going on, but I'll muddle through. It'll be long, intense, occasionally stressful, and intermittently fascinating.

I can't wait!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.