Transitoire

By Transitoire

Munich Day Three: Recovery and Forest Walks

This stallion’s name is Somollisonson, confirmed by Tobias for the spellings! I liked the backdrop of the hop yard, and didn’t want to go with one of the more traditional pictures that I had taken earlier on the walk.

So it was decided that the best thing to do to combat a slightly fragile feeling after a rather heavy night would be to go for a long and bracing walk. And explore the farm. And see the horses. And go for a walk in the woods.

The day started for me a little earlier than some of the other co-walkers, and I went out on my own for a little explore. The day was quite cold but the sky was pretty clear, so you didn’t actually feel too cold in the great scheme of things. Once everyone else was around, we spent a little time trying to break the ice on the pond by skimming stones on it, then Laura got her feet wet trying to walk on it. Not the best of starts but we were soon walking across the various fields and getting to meet the various horses and ponies on the farm. After walking around the fields it was decided that we would go for a walk in the nearby forest owned by Tobias’ parents, discussing how the “German tradition” of stealing a Christmas tree is not as fun when you actually own them! Once we were rather far into the woods, it was revealed that there was a hunt on that day too, but not to worry too much, as long as we “could run faster than everyone else”. Luckily we didn’t see any wild boar, or deer, or the like…but lots of hunting chairs, none of which I could climb up even though I wanted to.

Once we were back at the house we packed up and headed to Laura’s house…where we met her absolutely adorable cat (he's so ugly he's cute!). Well I think he is gorgeous! They both told us that he was “grumpy”, so Thom and I were really cautious around him when stroking him, thinking he was going to scratch us. Imagine our surprise when Laura put him into a large gift bag and carried him around for a bit, while he was purring fit to burst. Turns out they meant that he looked grumpy only, and is in fact one of the softest cats I’ve met! I amused myself for quite a while taking photographs of him. We then had a lovely meal, and the best pumpkin soup I have ever tasted, prepared for us by Laura’s Mum, and then Thom and I went to bed soon after as we were so knackered.

German houses are big.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.