a town called E.

By Eej

Frozen

Normal life is slowly resuming. Schools were still closed as back roads are completely blown over and we had a windchill temp of -20F.
I went to work where it was not a whole lot warmer.
We stopped at the pond - thinking I could have a quick wander about, but the parking lot is walled in by snow. I climbed and trodded and crunched myself a way down the slope, with snow coming well over my knees, took photos (this one won for most dramatic), and then climbed, trodded and crunched back. I was completely out of breath!

After work the Beloved took me to the lake's public access, to see if there were icefishers. I was not expecting a Duck Attack, but there they were, no water to swim in but unable to leave the spot they have come to associate with food.
Lucky I had duck food in the car, so we had a bit of a party.
I am so torn about this; I know they should be able to fend for themselves and I don't want to add to their dependency - but at the same time I realise that their independence ship has long sailed. And I have to help them because someone has to. *sigh*

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.