Louise - Changing Natures

By louisemac

Squinty Tribute...

A funny sense of circularity lies behind this blip.

It's my darling late Dad's birthday today. It's been many years since he died aged 91 but these anniversaries always seem to open up the hole left in your heart just that little bit more.

In thinking about him this morning - he had an incredible service record with the RAF between the 30s and 40s, and then MOD/CAA - I found myself reflecting on how sad he would be that there is still so much war and conflict. He was such an incredibly generous, tolerant man - he and I often talked about what his experiences overseas had taught him about tolerance, respect and dignity for all humans. I respected him hugely - his later life was marked with questions about what he fought for and he faced them with honesty, integrity, grace and compassion.

This afternoon I came over the "squinty bridge" in Glasgow - and because of roadworks had to stop. It was only when I looked out of the window I noticed these crosses - hundreds of them pinned on both sides. I'm hugely ashamed to say this is the first I've seen or heard of them.

The story behind them in here.

And so the circle comes round again...

Love you Dad. Miss you each and every day x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.