Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Boot Camp!

Boot Camp for fingers that is!!!

After yesterday's day out and about today was spent at home. The washing machine was loaded and unloaded multiple times, I caught up on some more blipfoto uploading (from October and November 2012), and I didn't get as much maths done as I'd hoped to.

However, the piano practice happened, and I also got going on some serious viola practice again. This is Kreutzer 30, as it's affectionately known, and the dates on the top of the music show that I first worked in it in 1992 and then 1994 - I was shocked when I suddenly realised that this year it will be 20 years since I graduated.

The writing on top of my music is that of my teacher at the Academy, who was excellent and made me into the viola player I was. I say "was" because I'm now a bit out of practice and need to get back to it properly.

Although today was very encouraging. Losing some weight and getting physically fitter actually makes playing easier. The backache is gone, and I can stand comfortably for long enough to do proper practice. After warming up with Kreutzer 30 I busked through the Bax Legend, which I used to play quite well, and various other pieces from College days!

All quite encouraging really!

Later this afternoon I was pretty tired - haven't quite got back into the early starts yet, but it's still been a productive day.

Oh, and following on from yesterday's blip, Restore shared this interesting link on their facebook page - one of the pictures shows Christ Church Meadow, which was the subject of yesterday's blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.