Snakelocks

By snakelocks

Jacqueline and the chickens

This is me with the chicken that I caught. It's very easy to feel stupid chasing chickens. They are small little birds that can't fly away or run very fast. So why are they so hard to catch? They don't even bother to run away properly. They just hang about outside my reach and then shuffle away when I make a move for them. So I was quite pleased to have caught this one, Snow Bell. Jacqueline told me that this is the slowest and easiest to catch of the flock.

I was quite impressed that one of the other chickens ate a dead mouse that the cat had brought back. It got it down in one gulp. Chickens are cool.

I paid a visit to Jacqueline who lives out in the wild East Anglian Fens and keeps chickens in the garden of her lovely house. She's just starting to get into djembe drumming with her two sons which I think is a lovely thing for a family to do together. I left with a box of eggs which her daughter runs as her first business. The eggs made me a great omelette tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.