Snakelocks

By snakelocks

Julian and a morning with the guns

Today I went to see Julian and he took me clay pigeon shooting. This is only the second time I have used a shot gun and it was great fun. I wasn't even rubbish at hitting the clays. I have absolutely no idea how you get used to having the thing kick back into the shoulder. I'm told it's technique and 'just getting used to it'. But it hurts! I had to give up after we'd done three traps because it was hurting so much. It's still stiff and sore 36 hours later while I type out this photo blog. What a weed I am!

For Sunday lunch, Julian cooked an amazing pork roast. He has recently reared pigs with some friends and has gotten some wonderful meat from them. For starters we had a selection of pork liver pâtés that Julian had made. My favourite was the pork and plum. Then we were served the crackling from the roast. I am a big fan of both pork scratchings and crackling. This was definitely the best I have ever tried. The roast pork itself was full of flavour and beautifully cooked. He does an amazing job of bringing all the parts of a large Sunday roast to the table at the same time, all perfectly cooked. He's had a lot of practise.

I've known Julian and his family for a long time. Julian enjoys life and I always have a great time when I see him. Laughter is guaranteed. He gets into all sorts of interesting projects, many of which involve either producing or preparing food and drink.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.