Swirly

6.4C and dull with occasional spots of rain. Light breeze.

When Maeve the Deerhound and I went out for the early short walk before 7am I noticed that the sky over the sea was starting to show a line of vivid red under a thick band of cloud. I waited until after Apothecary7 had gone to work then Maeve and I wandered down the road towards the shore with a sunrise shot in mind.

Part way down the road to the shore there is an entrance to the field. Often the field is divided at this point with one crop in the seaward end and another in the more Northerly end. We can take advantage of this and find easy walking along where the tractors have left wheel tracks. This lets me get far enough out into the field to get shots of the sea, or in this case of the sunrise colours. I tried some shots directly out to sea and over the trees and I liked this view with some swirly clouds best.

After lunch Maeve and I had our walk down to the beach. The tide was starting to come in. It was very dull compared to yesterday with everything looking very grey as a result.

When we came up by the fishermen's huts and along to the cottages the man from the end cottage and the man who runs the holiday cottage near the end were both there. We all stopped for a chat. Maeve got plenty of attention and two small dog treats from the man who runs the holiday cottage. Bonus :-)

I was experimenting further with monoprints today. This morning I inked up a plate with a sequence of colours, loosely hand printing them onto two different types of paper. This afternoon I inked the plate with black ink and completed the prints by placing the coloured paper face down on the plate and drawing on the back of the paper to transfer the ink. Mixed results but a step forward in understanding how to best use the water washable inks we bought a while ago. Next time I hope not to file the prints in bin !

Note to self ... don't use good heavy paper for monoprints with this type of ink.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.