Goldfinger's been at work!

A small shrine behind the scenes. A frustrating day that turned into another gem. The second massage left me feeling drained instead of light and airy like yesterday and I felt like writing a rant list of all the things that really p' me off here like the litter and filth which people don't seem to care about, that men just stand up and pee against any wall whenever they feel like it, that young men feel free to ride their motorbikes past so close to me without reason it is terrifying, that I am begged from all sides to come and see my shop or asked for money, the ripping off of tourists by rickshaw wallahs etc. etc. Yet, suddenly there are such generous gems – the shy smile of a women almost covered in her sari, the street kids that take your hand and just want to talk, the old men who sit in the sun and wave to me to sit down and share awhile, the young man who is concerned I can't find what I am looking for in his shop and takes me on his motorbike to search for it, a well dressed man who takes charge of me crossing the street through the traffic, the shopkeeper who thanks me for visiting and says I can't leave without anything and gives me a key ring with a beautiful Rajasthani doll on it, the painter who spends time talking about his work rather than just wanting me to buy it...no wonder I really love this place! more here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.