WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

A la marée

Another day with very limited blipportunities due to the weather. I don't want blipping to become a chore, and there's no satisfaction in hunting for photo opportunities in the village when the light is so dull, and I've photographed nearly everything already. So I decided to see what I could find when I went into Lézignan for a haircut. I'd hoped to take some photos while it was light, but having to drive a long way to find a parking space put paid to that. Instead you get the fishmonger at dusk, as I came out of the hairdresser. This is a very good fishmonger -- not cheap, but everything is in perfect condition, the fishmongers are always friendly and helpful, and there are queues out of the door on market day.

S has decided to seize the opportunity to go up Canigou in the snow this weekend with some friends -- conditions are good, and the avalanche risk is low. He always likes a carbfest before going walking, so for dinner I made roasted vegetable lasagne, followed by a panettone bread and butter pudding, based on a Nigel Slater recipe. It was lovely -- we ate nearly all of it.

4 tbs sultanas or raisins
2 tbs PX sherry or other alcohol of your choice
about 150 g of panettone
300 ml full cream milk, or 100 ml of cream and 200 ml of milk
2 eggs
3 tbs sugar

Preheat the oven to 180C. Choose a suitably sized gratin dish (I used one of those Spanish terracotta ones about 20 cm across) and put the sultanas in it. Sprinkle with the sherry. Tear up the panettone into biggish pieces and add it to the dish. Whisk together the other three ingredients and pour over the top. Bake for about 25 minutes, until the custard is set and the top is browned and puffy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.