MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Bye Bye Blackbird

I made a very brief visit to RSPB Rye Meads this afternoon. As I was leaving at 4.00pm I saw this beautiful male blackbird sitting in a Xanthoria lichen covered bush. The light was poor but his lovely orange beak and orange-rimmed eyes show up nicely. He is also sporting a ring.

I read that blackbirds are the first birds to take to the wing in the mornings as they can see better in poor light than other birds, owing to their big eyes.

I have just learnt that the song, Bye Bye Blackbird is about a prostitute who leaves her work to go back to her mother. There are two verses that jazzer Mr Q had never heard before. The blackbird represents the time when she is unhappy as a sex worker and the bluebird is when she is happy to be home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.