MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

"You Have Deaded Me"

As Bluebottle, played by Peter Sellers in the Goon Show, beloved of Prince Charles, would say. Whilst I was reading up on the Goons, I learnt that many of the sound effects in that radio show were produced by the BBC Radiophonic Workshop. My son was always on about it as those clever people made the soundtracks to the nature documentaries that he loved.

Having noticed today's Simone de Beauvoir GoogleDoodle, it got me thinking about feminism. She never committed to marriage or had children and seduced young women, who she then took home to share with JPS. I can't identify with her. A better role model would be Daphne Oram who took the opportunity of the male technicians being away at war and started the BBC Radiophonic Workshop, responsible for the Dr. Who theme.      

The sun shone briefly and I was intent on capturing a bug. Not much other than flies about. I didn't 'dead' the bluebottle. I think it actually looks quite beautiful.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.