I went to the Ringling today . . .

The Ringling Museum of Art. I took a docent led tour of the grounds with my friend Cheryl and learned many things including that the Ringling is the State Art Museum of Florida  ~established in 1927 as the legacy of Mable and John Ringling for the people of Florida. Mable Ringling developed a large, 27,225 square foot Rose Garden on the 66 acre property when it was her home, completed in 1913. The design of remains is the same 100 years later and volunteers from the same garden club that Mable Ringling was the president of, now come and help tend to the roses.

This rose looks a little other-worldly!
The other photos I took with my phone get automatically backed up by google+ and have been made into a nice little album here. It shows a bit of the variety of unusual colors of roses in Mable's garden.

And what roses! This is a close-up I took with my Samsung GS3 android phone, if you can believe. I also snapped many photos with my Sony CyberShot camera, but I like the angle and closeness of this one the best. Thanks for your visits, comments & encouragement on my Sketchbook Project, I am working more on the journal today, I just took a break to post this! I will be back . . . . it is finally warming up here, I hope you all are safe & warm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.