a town called E.

By Eej

"I has feet?"

We got stuck behind a tractor on the way to Kalamazoo. I said: "Well, you COULD pull into the public access so I can see how my BFF's are doing."
So we did.
They were napping, but as soon as they heard the sloshing of footsteps through the thigh high snow (I'm only mildly exaggerating) they woke up with reckless abandon. Because the temps have been above freezing they have regained some almost-watery territory - and I made sure to throw all the nibbles in the area where I could see the ice was thin so they could trample it down a bit more.
There was much encouragement from me: "Yes! You GO, mister! Kill ALL THE ICE!" which I'm sure was entertaining to see for passing cars.
There was much perplexity from the ducks' side: "WHY IS SHE YELLING? WHAT ARE THESE ORANGE THINGS UNDERNEATH ME? WHAT DO YOU MEAN I HAS FEET?*" which was entertaining to me.

Then we got stuck behind a schoolbus on the way to Kalamazoo.


The Beloved is back to work next week so unless the roads are passable enough to cycle (but still so cold they won't be able to find food elsewehere), getting out to the lake could be a bit troublesome on weekdays. I'm not saying I won't though - I'm sure we all know I'd be lying :)

*Ducks don't have a volume level. They are always at 11.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.