Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Mending his nets

For the first time in ages, I didn't make it to the weekly music session today. I didn't sleep well last night, finally gave in at 6:30 am and took a sleeping tablet. That seemed like a good idea at the time, especially since all I wanted was a few hours' sleep before making my way to the music. Next thing I knew, though, I was already an hour late for the usual start time. We're totally relaxed about timing in the group, so there wouldn't have been any problems if I'd turned up late — but almost as soon as I awoke I decided that I'd give things a miss today.

After a quick late breakfast I drove out to Howth to blow some cobwebs away. It was a pleasant afternoon, and I spent a leisurely couple of hours strolling around, soaking up the atmosphere, clicking the shutter over and over again, and even stopping for coffee and cake before coming back home. It was an unusual situation to be in on a Saturday afternoon, and I felt a few pangs of musical guilt from time to time, but I thoroughly enjoyed myself.

It wasn't easy choosing a blip from the almost 300 photos that made their way onto the computer. After much toing and froing I finally opted for this as my preferred choice. This guy was one of two who were busily engrossed in net-mending work up near the far end of the pier. They must have been aware of the camera, but neither of them even glanced at me or acknowledged my presence. (This is a severe crop, focusing on the very centre of the original image, so using the enlarge button doesn't make as much difference as usual.)

------------
Back-blip: Waiting for takeoff (26th November 2013)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.