LongDarkTeaTimeoftheSoul

By Nigel

The Matrix

I managed to get up and running with MpongoDB on my AWS server,so I have been running through a few tutorials that I have to try and get up to speed. When I work in the Terminal full-screen Jen always referred to me 'going into the matrix', which makes me feel kinda cool. I even got as far a s running up a quick PHP file (in nano, no less) to dump the data into a web page. I think that I might be choosing a different server side technology for this in future, specifically node.js (assuming I can learn enough node of course), as it is weird putting what is basically JSON into the data base but then having it returned as PHP objects that need serialised back into JSON to use in javascript on the page.

So I made it back to work, despite sleeping badly, being tired, awoken by air-raid sirens and still a bit tight in the chest I desperately needed some sort of human company. For my sins there was a company update scheduled and I had to sit for over an hour in a very warm room and be talked at. Unfortunately that sent me to the edge of sleep and I hope everyone understood. 7 redundancies have been made over the holidays, I'm not one of them, but some important and surprising people are, and there is a strange mood in the office.

I spoke to one of senior medical advisors about my experience at the weekend and she said that the paramedics did what they should have done in the circumstance but the ECG reading would not have triggered that responce in a doctor as they would have the experience to know that it wasn't a heart attack. In fact she mentioned viral chest infection before I got far in to my story. She has seen it quite a bit and is aware that there has been something going around in the past couple of months, it is known as Sander's disease as one of our staff called Sander was off with it last November. She was, however, appalled at the RIE. Which made me feel better, knowing that it wasn't just me being over fussy about the service received.

I became so very tired in the evening I actually fell asleep whilst coding in bed (where the picture was taken), but then Jen came home about idnight and pissed off to hammer away at Facebook for three hours despite supposedly starting work at 7am so I ended up having to sleep on the sofa to get away from it all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.