A Winter Sunset

Thank you for the many lovely comments on yesterday's blip!

And on this day, we tried to restore normalcy. As cheesecake is good food for the soul, I made my husband a fine cheesecake, perhaps my best effort ever. One slice made him thoughtful and philosophical. He was sad about some things. Happy about others.

"What do you have that's worth living for?" I asked him.
"Cheesecake," he said.
"The correct answer is true love," I said. "Let's try it again. What do you have that's worth living for?"
"CHEESECAKE!" he said.*

The day was mostly overcast, and a deer and her fawn, now mostly grown, bedded down in our woods. And they lay there quietly, legs folded, for several hours before the rain came.

But the day concluded with a fine gentle sunset that would knock your socks off. The sky grew peachy pink and lovely over the ice mist, then faded to black. And so ended the day.

The soundtrack: Brian Eno, An Ending.

*Movie note: Our favorite film, which is the first movie we ever saw together, was The Princess Bride. My starting line in the quote above is a line from the film. But he's supposed to say "TRUE LOVE!!!!!!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.