Cat Shape: A Meat Loaf Against the Light

It was a weekend to catch up on things. A weekend to stay in and catch our breath. Ours is a small, tight-knit family. We like to hang out together. In winter, we like to curl up in comfy blankies with our fingers wrapped around a hot cup. We like to cook and bake tasty treats. On the weekends, we do the tasks we have to do, of course, but we do some of what we want to do, as well.

Saturday's special treat was cheesecake (that was apparently even better than true love). Sunday's was cheddar bay biscuits: biscuit mix out of a box, garlic and herb seasoning in a packet; just add water and shredded cheddar to the biscuit mix and bake. Then slather with garlic/herb seasoning mixed with warm melted butter.

Addictive little things, sinfully easy to make, startlingly tasty, and best served warm. I have twenty ideas of things I'd like to stuff them with (hmm, pepperoni and more cheese, for one; scrambled eggs and cheese and mushrooms, for two). But they won't be around long enough for any of that, I'm afraid . . .

The cat, of course, likes it best when we are all at home. At this point in the day, he had just had his lunchies and was feeling quite mellow, and as I put the biscuits in the oven, I noticed him sitting and looking out the front door window into the light. I picked up my camera when I saw him there, his ear shapes well defined, his stripey body looking like a meat loaf against the light.

The song: well, it just has to be by Meat Loaf! Any of the songs from his wonderful 1977 Bat out of Hell album will do. So I choose . . . *spins wheel; watches it spin* . . . let's see . . . Meat Loaf, with You Took the Words Right Out of My Mouth.

So . . . on a hot summer night, would you offer your throat to the wolf with the red roses? Hmm, if he offers me his hunger, we've got some delectable cheddar bay biscuits he might rather have instead. But he'd better hurry up and get here if he wants one because they're almost gone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.