twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

Cold and Frosty Morning

I looked at a lot of blips yesterday; some recurring themes there, the major one being the blue skies everywhere.

For me, it wasn't so much the blue sky, although it was a joy, but to me it was how it showed off the other colours that there are even in the depths of winter.

Outside Scottish Gas HQ, even Tom (aged 6) went "Wow, see how bright those red branches are against the sky".

And for me, I don't necessarily want a clear view of anything; whilst on Munros, often the most interesting views and photos are the ones with clouds and shadows, and here the layers, the filigree, the lace of branches, the old gasometer, the Scottish Gas HQ, all serve to offer contrast and interest to an already stunning sky.

We woke and saw another fiery sunrise, and by the time we had dressed, eaten and were out, it was brighter but frosty. Both boys loving the slidy slippery pavements. Oblivious to the cold wind with its sharp edge, we slithered up to the supermarket; then wandered back. As good a couple of hours doing something but nothing.

The guys went home at lunchtime, full of soup, pork pie and apples. Hardly text book, but they ate, I am happy.

I spent the first part of the afternoon tidying, load of washing on then out, hoovering, and then preparing for my guest.

We had planned a quiet afternoon watching a movie - we'd arrived at Bonjour Tristesse - I'd read the book about a million years ago and can barely remember the finer points, but I know it was reissued a couple of years ago and wanted to see it. So stylish, so cool; could have done with more examination of the dynamic between the 4 major characters and an extra half hour giving more depth to the 'suicide' of Anne.

But an enjoyable film, brilliant dialogue, stylishly shot, some cool cars and bars and locations. As we're sitting inside on a cold winter's afternoon, the contrast with the French Riviera in summer was noticeable!

Afterwards, we went to eat Thai at Port of Siam - never been before, would go back again. Tasty, friendly, not deadly expensive.

I was home by nine, my co conspirator had to be in to deal with her brood; but we had a magical time together.

But the end of the day with her in the dark was a million miles from the start of the day in the brightness with the boys.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.