The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Upper Foxhangers Bridge

I stopped off at the Caen Hill flight of locks on my way into Devizes on Saturday, to take advantage of the splendid light. I parked in the lay-by on Marsh Lane just by Upper Foxhangers Bridge, which is at the bottom of the flight. I walked on the towpath up to the lock beside Foxhangers Cottage, and in the other direction beyond Caen Hill Café, in the lowering sun's warming light. At the café a heron took off from a side pond, as anglers competed with it for supper.

I got several shots I liked, and was burning the midnight oil preparing the set of the day, undecided as to which to make my blip, and posting images for the set to Flickr as I progressed. This image got selected to be in Explore (as had Thursday's Silbury Hill blip) and by tonight had attracted over 5,000 views and 76 favourites, and although it was probably not necessarily the one I would have chosen, it seemed clear that it had to be the Blip.

L.
12.1.2014

Blip #1149
Consecutive Blip #011
Day #1388

Alternatives:
West Of  The Bridge
The Canal At Foxhanger's Cottage
Trees And Reflections
Fishing At The End Of The Day

A Visit To The Caen Hill Locks, 11 January 2014 (Flickr set)

Lenses: Pentax 12-24mm, Pentax 55-300mm

Canals series
Caen Hill series
Kennet and Avon Canal series

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Jimi Hendrix Experience - 51st Anniversary (recorded 11 January 1967)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.