point and press

By crispinhj

stew

for supper

Another food post. When I woke it was the first real frost of the winter here - it's been very mild which always makes me feel uncomfortable. Feeling the effects of last night's party I didn't spring out and take frosty photos but kept indoors, lit a fire and did some research

I have found that although I enjoyed my time at college greatly and learnt a lot about a lot of different things, they never actually taught me (or that I can recall even mentioned) any painting theory. Looking at paintings by some of the tutors now, who were if not exactly steeped in tradition certainly part of a painterly tradition I find it surprising that there was never a mention of technique.

Much of their efforts I think went into complementary studies which was an astonishing and innovative course which introduced us to things we might never have heard of left to our own devices. Our interests were often directed elsewhere.

Whatever the reason I have been struggling to get some of my ideas into production so I have been researching the hows and whys of painting. Some things I have worked out for myself over the years without formulating or expressing them (and we all know that if you haven't expressed the idea then it's not really an idea). I use a limited palette and try to put colours all over the image so that it creates a sort of visual unity. Other stuff is a complete mystery to me, and I spent most of the day on youtube and elsewhere reading and watching people. What an astonishing resource the internet is.

I was then on the edge of my seat watching the last of the latest series of Sherlock - simply the most brilliant series I have seen for ages

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.