point and press

By crispinhj

rugby

in the park

I thought I had uploaded this already but it seems to have vanished - the vagaries of blipfoto I guess

Coming back from the market I often walk through the park and stop for a while and watch the games of rugby. I used to spend most winter Sundays for a number of years in various muddy places watching the boys, but now it's just an occasional pause. I saw the players warming up and thought how strange it would be if my friend Ben were to be playing (he told me a little while ago that he often did play in the park) and to my surprise there he was .......

I stopped and watched the first half, it was end to end stuff and quite exciting, but as the teams swapped ends I realised I was frozen and retired to sit in front of the fire in our front room.

I love the fact that there's a club that uses the park as its base and that there are regularly games - albeit the crowd watching tends to be of the one man and his dog variety.

Later that evening we went to our friend Elaine's birthday party in Leytonstone (the second time in three days!) and had a great time, there was a band and a fabulous buffet. It was lovely, family and friends all getting together

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.