Evening Valley View

Arriving home after the first day of work of the year I was definitely up for a walk up the valley road to blow away some of the day's cobwebs. Jack needed a good walk too; there's been a lot of sheep work going on next door with my neighbour crutching his lambs and getting ewes ready for shearing, the result of which is that Jack has been getting worked up as the farm bikes pass up and down the lane.

Nearing the top of the valley road, Jack and I turned off the tarmac and headed up to another neighbour's yards. I've taken shots up here before; it's a great lookout down the valley to the hills at the southwest end, as well as the weather that's coming from the direction of Lake Ellesmere on the other side.

Tech notes: To give a little bit of coolness to match the temperature (thank you unseasonable cool breezes) I've given the image a light cyan filter in DxO Optics Film Pack. I'm currently experimenting with DxO Optics Elite as my RAW processor in addition to Aperture, which is still my choice of cataloging on the Mac. Whilst I've found Lightroom good for processing, I don't think it's as good as Aperture when it comes to image management. DxO seems to be filling the void on the processing side now that my trial of Nikon Capture NX2 has expired. If you're after an alternative for your RAW files, I reckon it's worth a look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.