DanEllwood11

By DanEllwood11

Plans put into place.

Mum was here again at 10:30 and woke me up. The transplant consultant was due at 11.

He finally turned up at around 2! He explained everything to me, making sure I understood it as he went along. He told me exactly why the surgery was cancelled.

On the surface of my lung I have many cysts. The scar tissue that has formed has made my lung weak. If the surgeon was to peel that away, they were afraid that all the other cysts would rupture, causing more damage.

Also, the cavity in between my lung and chest wall is full of infection. This increased the risk of things taking a turn for the worst.

He started to talk about transplant. "If this hadn't of happened, you wouldn't be seeing me for at least another 10 years."

He said putting me on the list now would be too risky because of all the infection I have at the minute. If he was to put me on the list now and a pair of lungs became available a few days later, I would lose my life if they went ahead with the surgery.

The fastest time he has seen a person go on the list to getting the successful call is 11 hours!

The plan is to get my infections under control by putting me on a lot of new medication, ensure my stability, then put me on the list.

I don't know how long I could be waiting for that call. It could be weeks, months or even years. Who knows. In the mean time I will be allowed home when they are happy that I can tolerate the new treatment. I will still have a chest drain in place but I'll finally be home and be able to get back to college and do things I want to do.

My college tutor came today to help me with assignment work. He's brilliant. I definitely see him more as a friend than a college tutor. Especially with what he has done since all this happened.

He has gone well above and beyond his duties.

Some teachers from school came to see me later this evening. It was really good to see them and catch up with them.

A meeting is being held again tomorrow night, me being the main subject.

They should tell me what was said soon after...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.