Bob20

By Bob20

Where I live

A hectic day today, hence the very quick snapshot of the back of our house and mill. I have to leave here for a funeral in Essex soon and I have tons to do.

The day began with a phone call from the Peak District National Park Authority. They had an appointment with me here this morning, which was made first thing, because of my trip to Essex. Guess what, they were going to be late.

The purpose of the visit is to carry out an archaeological appraisal. They do drive me nuts! English Heritage have been here and done one, which the Peak park have. I have also given them hundreds of good quality photographs and they arrived today with a tiny little point & shoot!

Anyway, it was a sunny morning, so I went round the back of the mill to capture the reflections.

The awful looking boom is to divert leaves, weed and trash down the left side of the mill and away from our hydropower installation which is on the right side of the mill.

On the left is the barn in which corn and flour were stored on the first floor and animals were kept on the ground floor. I have almost finished the renovation, it was totally derelict when we bought the place five years ago. Past the barn is our house, which is the old miller’s house and was built in 1773. The house was also derelict when we bought it.

Final job, subject to a very difficult planning application is the beautiful mill. Would you believe the Peak park would prefer it to be used as offices rather than a house or holiday cottage! Why would I want offices in the middle of my property?? It is all too daft and beggar’s belief.

I’m afraid I will not be able to respond to comments until I am back on Thursday, but I will do so. Thanks for the great comments on yesterday’s blip, I am getting through them slowly☺

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.