Four Pieces, Four Colours

4.5C and mostly grey with some light showers in the middle of the day. Light breeze.

Maeve the Deerhound and I went for a walk down to the shore after the showers passed over. The tide had not long started to go out. The beach was completely empty. I picked up these four pieces of ceramic as we walked along. I liked that each has a different colour.

When we got home I brought the box with things for printmaking down to the kitchen and made a few monoprints. I had put some colour on some thin paper on Saturday afternoon when Apothecary7 was working up in her studio. Apothecary7 coloured some paper on Saturday too and has made some monoprints over the weekend. One of my coloured sheets is the background for today's blip.

My inking experiments on Friday have definitely paid off. It is much better to roll ink out on one plate then use the inky roller to smoothly ink up a second plate which is the one to use for making prints. This seems to result in less danger of inky marks appearing on the final print if the back of the paper is touched during the drawing/printing process.

Today I used blue ink with a little black added rather than just black. This just took the black down a little and the final print doesn't end up looking dull and dead. I made four approximately A4 sized prints. Standing stones in Kilmartin Glen. Not one has yet been filed in the bin. Progress !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.