Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Oops

After posting ‘the plasterer’ a couple of days ago (13th Jan), I decided to have a look at this crouch thing. Every Indonesian can do it, so why can’t I. It has nothing to do with size, as there are plenty of flobelob booties here that have no problem getting down to the crouch and holding perfect balance.

After spending four months living on the floor, as I said yesterday, my flexibility has improved immensely, although I have actually been working on it too. But, the crouch thing is not about being able to touch your toes, as even though I can do the crouch thing now, it is teetering on the edge and not stable.

The shot that I was going for was me in the crouch, but this accident was just too amusing not to post. I have no folio, so had to do a combo.

The secret is clearly revealed if you compare my crouch and that of Mr Acid (13th). It is all about the Achilles tendon at the back of the heel. If you look at the angle of the back of my calf to foot and compare it to Mr Acid, you will see that the lack of flexibility in the Achilles is forcing my body backwards, although I must say that Mr Acid does appear to be defying gravity, with his CoG behind his heels.

Try it and tell me how you got on – careful standing up again.

DAve

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.