CarrieEllenA

By CarrieEllenA

A stoney path

Many of you have made suggestions about what I can do with my stones. (Hey...Get your mind out of the gutter!) I will be improving this path as the weather warms up. Since it is fairly short and shallow I do use a trowel to dig up the spaces for the new additions and that means hanging out on the damp ground on my knees. It is unpleasant work when the temperatures are not much above freezing but not too bad when the air is warmer. I found the few bricks in the yard and I do like to use found objects. The stones have a few requirements. They need to be of a reasonable size and they need to have one surface that is fairly flat. It is tougher than one might think out of a random batch of stones. There are plenty that are fist-sized, some even larger, but most are too round and to have them sit at ground level would mean the the surface that can be above ground is too small to be practical or that they could roll and be a hazard. Eventually I will find some nice groundcover to live between them, but that is no hurry. The road to get here was hard, but the stoney path can be the distance between the years. It didn't start before my arrival, but it could last well after I am gone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.