CarrieEllenA

By CarrieEllenA

Wedded...

And Bedded in less than 10 minutes. I had been planning for this winter-blooming camellia (yuletide)since October of 2012. I was too late last year to buy one when I was nearly ready in march of last year. They were sold out. So I continued to prep the bed. I made sure that the ground was well tilled and that there was a lot of humus in my poor clay soil. When these are normally planted in November, we were having record low temperatures and the ground was frozen. December was a fiscal disaster but now it is January, things are looking up and while the temperatures are cold, they are not the Nordic temps we were having. Now I have some color in my garden this winter and will for another 6 weeks or so. When we got home I quickly opened her bed and tucked her in. Here's hoping we will be very happy together.

Another plus is that we have hummingbirds that winter here. They like such things and the deep red color should make them want to come visit. That is a blip I would love to show you

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.