The Fence

At 5.45am I was trudging up the tracks in the Wither Hills Farm Park. It was not a particularly exciting dawn. There was some cloud hanging around the hills over Tempello Station to the south. The light was rather muted. I suppose I could call it gentle light. Things improved somewhat once the sun rose over the ridge to the east.
The trek took my much longer than I had planned. I kept meeting up with various “Hill Friends “that I had not seen for quite some time. So it was catching-up time, exchanging news of families and the like. I have this big growing group of Hill Friends. It can be wonderfully social at times on the hills. Then there are my “River Friends.” These are the folk I meet on a regular basis when they are either mountain biking or walking the tracks along the Taylor River. I treasure my friendship with these two different groups of people. Where would we be without friends? And now of course I have you, my Blipfoto Friends!
We had a bit of an earthquake a few minutes ago at 8.37pm. It was centered 5 Km south-west of Seddon and was of 3.9 magnitude. It was quite a jolt but Fergus the dog, who hates earthquakes, seems to be OK so I can write that one off as mild.
I have an app on our iPad and my iPhone called GeoNet Quake. It is very interesting. There are small earthquakes happening all around New Zealand all the time. We live on shaky ground for sure!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.