antipodean

By antipodean

Leased

It's TOO HOT. TOO. HOT. Why was I wishing for a Melbourne summer?

We signed the lease today! Steph and I, along with Dad (who is co-signing for me), headed out to the estate agents to finalise everything. The other girls still need to sign but that'll all get done via email. I'm so excited and scared to move out of home properly, and kind of amazed at how quickly it's all happened. This is good timing, though - I have time to settle in at the new place before I start my course which is good.

We got to have a quick look around the house after all the official stuff was done, and we did a lot of measuring and figured out what could go where. Luckily Steph likes the house - I was pretty nervous that, being the only one who had actually seen the place, the others would think I'd picked a bad house. That doesn't seem to be the case, though!

After we'd seen the house Dad and I decided to go and get lunch at Proud Mary, and I discovered they do lovely granitas so I was able to combat the heat of today - it got to 42, and there's no relief in sight until the weekend. I actually got a call from my boss cancelling my shift for tomorrow. Obviously I'm annoyed I won't get that money, but I was really, really dreading spending the day outside in 40+ conditions!

This evening Julia and I went to a movie premiere at the Nova. We saw Inside Llewyn Davis, the Coen brothers' latest offering based on the lives of early folk musicians in Greenwich in the 1960s. It was a brilliant movie - perfectly cast (yeah, even Justin Timberlake - I really rate JT as an actor, he's been in several quality movies) and, naturally, the music was exquisite. All recorded live, and a lot of it arranged by Marcus Mumford. Really, this film was made for me: Coen brothers + folk music + 1960s + Carey Mulligan + Marcus Mumford + an adorable ginger cat = everything I love crammed into one movie. The event included live music and free beer and was basically just awesome.

We ate a late dinner at D.O.C after the movie and managed to demolish two enormous pizzas and basically spent the whole time talking about my future home. What a good day.

Here is Steph expressing her excitement at our new living arrangements. Yay!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.