An Obsessive Photographer

By MadDogGiraffe

Lazy blip

Sorry guys and girls, very long days and still got 8 process diagrams to create on Visio before I can go to bed so no photos out and about just this rather lazy cliche of dropping a bit of fruit in to a glass of fizzy water.

I have never tried this before, I have seen it done so many times that I just never bothered doing it myself but needs must.

For those that fancy giving it a go here is what I did; Placed a flash (flash A) behind the glass shooting through a defuser and another (flash B) to the left hand side and slightly in front of the glass. I had put it more to the front but it glared and flattened the bubbles. The flashes were on manual and set so that flash A was on 1/2 power and flash B was on 1/4 power. The glass is sitting on the diffuser that is draped over an upturned tumbler glass, this allows the light from behind to get under the glass as well as behind it. Tiny tweak in Lightroom just to give more detail with the clarity slider and being a Canon user, some sharpness to counter act the filter over the sensor. Camera set to manual to stop the meter from exposing for the background.

And that is the science behind that. Do drop me a note if you give it a go, I would like to see your variations, I am sure with time I could have got this a little better, maybe less bubbles and more softer light in the Cherry to make it stand out more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.