An Obsessive Photographer

By MadDogGiraffe

Cherry Shoot MKII 2 with Ikea mains lights.

See yesterday for details leading to this photo set.

Well I rose to the challenge and put my money were my mouth was and here is the result.

If I had not been so lazy it would be sharper, I hand held the camera rather than resting it on a box or using a tripod. The shutter speed was much slower due to the dim lights I choose, 1/30th of a second. I was also trying to drop the cherry myself and hold a very heavy camera in one hand; yesterday my daughter dropped the cherry in for me.

I realised I do not have any lamps about the house but did have these LED mains lights from IKEA that I bought to go under the kids bunk beds but never got round to fitting them.

I also broke the Edinburgh Crystal Champaign Flute which was part of a wedding present from 19yrs ago so very sad and very in trouble.

Still, on the upside I have now demonstrated that you do not need expensive gear! You can all do this with a camera and two light sources of pretty much any kind (preferably the same type though for white balance). Oh, and the imagination and get up and go to do it. Suggest plastic Picnic glasses.

I would be pleased to offer any help I can so if you give it a go or are thinking about it and want to ask me a question, please feel free, my email is on my profile page.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.