When the going gets weird

By Slybacon

Hassles and falafels

So of course, after going to go to great trouble to get a film to print on Monday, amidst all the other bits and pieces I had to drag into college, I managed to forget to take the damned thing with me. Typical.

We had a morning of presenting our social projects to our classmates. It's good to see what everyone else has been up to. There was some really excellent stuff on show, with a wide variety of styles, approaches. Collectively the class got a gold star.

Then we had some bad news, apparently the lecturers are likely to be commencing industrial action in the next few weeks. I think I mentioned waaay back my lack of faith in the "suits" if you will responsible for running the College (based on my time at Telford). Looks like that cynicism was well justified. Well, stuff em, I'm with Lech, Solidarność!

After the presentations I hustled home to collect the negatives and headed to Stills to do some printing. The darkroom in there is freezing at the moment. I did discover though, that Fela Kuti makes for excellent musical accompaniment. So with his aid, I battled against ice cold chemistry and water stained negatives to produce some kind of useable print.

Much later I trudged home (super tempted by a falafel from Palmyra to cheer myself up on the way past, recommended fellow blippers). Totally knackered. Only to have to pile straight into some more work books that I had hoped to get too much earlier, before all this darkroom palava started to get out of hand.

What is it the yoots say? OH MY DAYS.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.