Transitoire

By Transitoire

Munich Day Six: Almost Deutsches Museum

I say almost, because, well. We went in it. For a few minutes. Well, forty minutes because we arrived forty minutes before it closed...free entry though!

So our morning to late afternoon was very chilled out...Laura, Paolo, Thom and I had a long breakfast and then stayed in the flat chatting for quite a while. And by breakfast, I really mean lunch.

After taking the scenic tour around the city to get the museum (more walking than necessarily needed, but lovely to see the city properly!), we arrived to find that it was soon to close...so the one exhibit we decided that we all wanted to see was the reconstructed mines. I realise we are all pretty geeky. However, it was in these mines that Thom and I found the most perfect piece of mistranslation we have ever come across:-

Pingenbau – Glory-hole mining

Enough said.

Was really interesting to see the exhibits anyway (I love museums!) and we will be heading back tomorrow to see more of it. This is a view of the museum from the side...it is actually situated on a little island in the middle of the river...somehow. I never actually asked how or why as I'm scared that the island is made from the rubble that we created dropping bombs on Munich and I didn't want to be accused of "always mentioning the war".

Anyway, so after the quick trip around the museum we started to head to Laura's favourite coffee shop to have a coffee with a few of her friends. We took the scenic route. And by that I mean we got lost. Well, we didn't. Laura did! But we got there eventually and like all of the other people we have met so far, Laura's friends were lovely...and spoke perfect English. Ended up getting into a debate about whether Disney films always have stereotypical endings, and whether that is any different to say, a Harry Potter film, or Lord of the Rings.

After a lovely hour or so in the coffee shop we then headed back to the flat for dinner, where Paolo cooked the best risotto I have ever tasted. It pays to have an Italian boyfriend I guess! I even tried some mushrooms, and ate more than one...which for me is a huge thing, as I am massive texturephobe when it comes to food. But Paolo succeeded in making me try something new even if I couldn't eat all the mushrooms and had to give some to Thom to have. Added with wine lead to Laura demanding Thom and I to tell her all the words we knew for 'penis', and then draw a diagram to explain the nitty-gritty! Germans...

This was also the evening that the air-bed decided to break at about 5.30am. Cue Thom and I waking up on the kitchen floor with the bed almost around our heads! We eventually got back to sleep, although as Thom is 6'3, so heavier that me, ever time he moved it was like I was on a catapult! We managed it eventually though, which was nice!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.