Of rich and royal hue..

By mintlawquine

Quintessential WRI

'Twas the Rural Burns night this evening, and as I was feeling a bit better and had the offer of a lift, I ventured out. I'm glad I did, as it took my mind off my aches and pains. The usual supper of haggis, mince, mashed tatties and bashed neeps was followed by trifle, then some musical entertainment by the Ythan Singers, which obviously included some Burns songs, with a finale of tea, shortbread, tablet and some other fancy pieces. An excellent evening, slightly spoiled by the attention seeking antics of some local teenagers intent on kicking the door of the hall. I almost went into detached youth worker mode but the heavy rain put me, and them off!

If this progress continues, I might even get back to work next week, especially if the snows stays away. This time last year we had several inches and temperatures way below freezing. No sign of that in 2014 - so far!

Did you know there are over 770 SWR institutes in Scotland making the SWRI the principal educational organisation for women in the country? You can find out more from this link or on the SWRI's FB page.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.