Weka

A weka is a type of rail, native to New Zealand. Although not exactly rare, they are only found in certain parts of the country. There used to be quite a few around the Murchison area but over the years the numbers decreased quite a lot. This year I have seen quite a few, and believe their numbers are increasing in the area.

I saw one in my backyard last week (most unusual - generally to be found in areas of native bush) but didn't get a decent photo of it. Yesterday I had two in my back yard - but was outside chatting to a visitor at the time and didn't have my camera on me.

This morning I was out at the clothesline when 2 came to visit. I whisked inside, grabbed my camera and was fortunate to find that one of them was still there. In fact it was in no hurry to leave.

Going by its size I would say it is very young (or a female). They are generally about the size of a chook, and are really curious birds - they love to check out what you're doing. They steal things, a bit like a magpie will, especially shiny things.

It is so neat to have them here - I hope they stay around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.