High Summer

Late yesterday I received the call I'd been waiting for and this morning went off to Christchurch to get my new glasses. What a difference they make! I can see all sorts of details that I couldn't see before. They will take a bit of getting used to, but it shouldn't take long.

On the way home I stopped at the place that I have taken this series of shots from, showing the farm track in different seasons. There was a very gusty nor'wester blowing. I had to wrap an arm around a fencepost to steady myself. It was warm too. In Christchurch the temperature was 32ºC, but at home it was 27ºC.

At home I went out to look at what the wind was doing to the trees and the barley field. Suddenly I saw a flash of blue and a kingfisher settled on a post about five metres away. I have never seen one here before. The nearest river is a kilometre away. I didn't have my camera, but thanks to my new glasses I got a good look at it.

I was out this morning very early, hoping to see the moonset, but it was overcast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.