Dare Mighty Things

By dcomp

Massive Blue Cock

I have wandered through Trafalgar Square many times in the last 6 months and have paid little attention as it becomes something of a normal route in the walks I take.

But, as I have noticed since I started Blipping, I am looking at the detail around me more, noticing the things I have otherwise ignored, purposely exploring for the next photo and the next inspiration.

There is nothing clever about today's image but there is a purpose to using it as it highlights the opening of my mind and vision very well.

This sculpture has sat atop the fourth plinth for 6 months and only today have I seen it. If this were a small grey statue in the concrete beauty or this historic square, one might be forgiven? But this is big, it's blue, and it's a cock. And I haven't seen it before.

Had I not started Blipfoto 16 days ago, I dare say I would have walked past it for another 6 months but my mind and vision and my willingness and desire to flood my imagination with potential captures to snapshot today, has broadened by outlook considerably.

I won't miss the massive blue cock again and I sincerely hope a small grey statue appearing on a route that I know well would also not escape me now either. As Steve Tyler once sang, 'I don't want to miss a thing'.

He also once sang 'Some sweat hog mama with a face like a gent, Said my get up and go musta got up and went'.... but that bears no relevance to my image today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.